Public Document Pack

County Council (virtual meetings from July 2020 due to Coronavirus) Wednesday 18 November 2020 10.00 am Virtual Meeting



SUPPLEMENT TO THE AGENDA

To: The Members of the County Council (virtual meetings from July 2020 due to Coronavirus)

We are now able to enclose the following information which was unavailable when the agenda was published:

Item 9	Report of the Monitoring Officer (to include Scrutiny Review update, Appointment of Chair of Pensions Committee) (Pages 3 - 12)	
	Appointment of Chair of Pensions Committee	
	Appointment of statutory officers	
	Scrutiny Review update	

Published on 17 November 2020

Democratic Services, B3, County Hall, Taunton, TA1 4DY



Appendix 1

APPOINTMENTS SCHEDULE

COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

AUDIT COMMITTEE (8 members)

Group / Seats

Chair: Mike Lewis

Vice-Chair: Mike Caswell

Membership: (CIPFA advice is no Cabinet members and preferably

no high profile scrutiny members to be appointed)

Mike Lewis Philip Ham

Graham Noel Con (5)

Mike Caswell Bob Filmer

Dean Ruddle Lib Dem (2)

Liz Leyshon

Independent

Hugh Davies Group (1)

CONSTITUTION AND STANDARDS COMMITTEE (5 elected

members and 5 co-opted members)

Groups / Seats

Chair: William Wallace

Membership – elected members: (political proportionality requirements waved by the Council – all political groups represented – 1 member each)

William Wallace Con (1)
Tessa Munt Lib Dem (1)
Dave Loveridge Lab (1)
Hugh Davies Ind (1)
Martin Dimery Green (1)

Membership - co-opted non-voting members:

Robin Horton Jan Middleton Wesley Wooding Vacancy Vacancy

DEVON AND SOMERSET COMBINED FIRE AUTHORITY (8 members)

Groups / Seats

Chair's appointment is made by the Fire Authority itself

SCC's Membership:

Ann Bown Con (5)

Mark Healey Linda Vijeh Terry Napper

Peter Clayton

Simon Coles Lib Dem (2)

Mike Best

Leigh Redman Lab (1)

EXMOOR NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY (4 members)

Groups / Seats

Chair's appointment is made by the Park Authority itself

SCC's Membership:

Frances Nicholson Con (3)

Christine Lawrence

James Hunt

Lib Dem (1)

Bill Revans

HR POLICY COMMITTEE (6 elected members)

Groups / Seats

Chair: Mandy Chilcott (This Committee is chaired by the Cabinet member with responsibility for HR issues)

Membership:

Mandy Chilcott
William Wallace

Con (4)

Anna Groskop Philip Ham

Andy Kendall Lib Dem (1)

Leigh Redman Labour Group (1)

OFFICER APPEALS COMMITTEE (9 members)

Groups / Seats

Chair: (appointment delegated to the Committee)

Membership: (Committee of 3 members chosen from the 6 to hear each appeal – members **must** receive appropriate training in HR issues to be allowed to participate)

Linda Vijeh

Rod Williams Con (5)

John Parham Mike Pullin

Giuseppe Fraschini

Jane Lock

Tessa Munt

Lib Dem (2)

Neil Bloomfield Individual member (1)

Martin Dimery Green (1)

PENSIONS COMMITTEE (4 elected members)

Groups / Seats

Chair: John Thorne

Membership:

Graham Noel Con (3)

John Thorne John Parham

Simon Coles Lib Dem (1)

Non-elected Membership: (4 voting non-elected

representatives)

- representing the district councils

Mr P Butler – representing the Avon & Somerset Police & Crime

Commissioner

Mr G Bryant – representing other employers Sarah Payne – representative of pension scheme members

Mr R Henley

REGULATION COMMITTEE (8 members)

Groups / Seats

Con (5)

Chair: John Parham

Vice-Chair: Nigel Hewitt-Cooper

Membership: (no Cabinet members. Members **must** receive training in planning, rights of way and village green issues before taking part in a committee meeting)

John Parham

Nigel Hewitt-Cooper

Mike Caswell Nigel Taylor Mark Keating

Simon Coles Lib Dem (2)

Mike Rigby

John Clarke Green Party (1)

Named substitutes

Ann Bown, Terry Napper, Mike Pullin

Tony Lock and Dean Ruddle

Dave Loveridge

Lib Dem

Labour

SCRUTINY FOR POLICIES, ADULTS AND HEALTH COMMITTEE Groups / Seats

(8 members)

Chair: Hazel Prior-Sankey

Vice-Chair: Mark Healey

Membership: (no Cabinet members to be appointed)

Mike Caswell Peter Clayton Gemma Verdon

Ann Bown Con (5)

Mark Healey

Hazel Prior-Sankey Lib Dem (2)

Jane Lock

Andrew Govier Labour (1)

4

SCRUTINY FOR POLICIES, CHILDREN & FAMILIES

Groups / Seats

(8 members)

Chair: Leigh Redman Vice-Chair: Rod Williams

Membership: (no Cabinet members to be appointed)

Rod Williams

Nigel Hewitt-Cooper William Wallace James Hunt

Josh Williams

Con (5)

Bill Revans

Martin Dimery

Lib Dem (2) – Lib Dem allocating a place to Green

Party

Leigh Redman

Lab (1)

Voting non-elected representatives for the consideration of

education matters only:

Ruth Hobbs

Vacancy Parent Gov Reps

(2)

Mrs E Tipper Schools

Education Partnership Board (1)

Mr P Elliot Schools Forum

(1)

3 vacancies Church Rep (3)

SCRUTINY FOR POLICIES AND PLACE COMMITTEE

Groups / Seats

(8 members)

Chair: Anna Groskop Vice-Chair: Ann Bown

Membership: (no Cabinet members to be appointed)

Anna Groskop

Ann Bown Con (5)

Philip Ham Mark Keating Bob Filmer

Tessa Munt

Lib Dem (2)

John Hunt

Independent

Group (1)

SOMERSET HEALTH AND WELLBEING BOARD

Groups / Seats

Membership (overall membership agreed by the Council):

Proposed County Council membership – subject to the approval of the Leader (5 members appointed by the Leader – currently includes relevant Cabinet Members for Children's Services, HR and Adult Social Care)

Clare Paul (Chair) Frances Nicholson (Vice-Chair) David Huxtable Linda Vijeh

Con (4)

Mike Best

Lib Dem (1)

District Council Elected Representatives (1 elected member per Council)

Chris Booth – Somerset West and Taunton Council Ros Wyke – Mendip District Council Brian Hamilton – South Somerset District Council Janet Keen – Sedgemoor District Council

Officers and Independent Members

Ms T Grant (SCC)

Ms M Lock (SCC)

Mr J Wooster (SCC)

Dr A Murray (CCG)

Mr J Rimmer (CCG)

Dr Ed Ford (CCG)

Mark Cooke (NHS England)

Judith Goodchild (HealthWatch)

Superintendent Mike Prior, Avon and Somerset Police

SOMERSET PENSIONS BOARD (6 – 3 Employer reps, 3

Groups / Seats

Con (1)

Member reps)

Chair: (appointment delegated to the Board)

Membership: (one elected member to be included as an

'employer' rep)

3 'Employer' reps:

Mark Healey

Mr P Deal

Vacancy

3 'Member' reps

Mr N Behan

Vacancy

Vacancy

FOR INFORMATION

CABINET

The Leader has appointed the following members to his Cabinet by way of a Leader's decision.

- Leader of the Council and Cabinet Member for Strategy and Customers & Communities David
 Fothergill
- Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Resources Mandy Chilcott
- Cabinet Member for Economic Development, Planning and Community Infrastructure David Hall
- Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care David Huxtable
- Cabinet Member for Children and Families Frances Nicholson
- Cabinet Member for Education and Council Transformation Faye Purbrick
- Cabinet Member for Highways and Transport John Woodman
- Cabinet Member for Health, Wellbeing & Climate Change Clare Paul
- Cabinet Member for Customers and Communities Christine Lawrence

Junior Cabinet Member Appointments

- Economic Development, Planning and Community Infrastructure Mike Pullin
- Adult Social Care Giuseppe Fraschini

OPPOSITION APPOINTMENTS – FOR INFORMATION

LIBERAL DEMOCRAT GROUP

Leader: Jane Lock
Deputy Leader: Liz Leyshon

Cabinet Member	Opposition Group Spokesperson
David Fothergill (Leader of the Council)	Jane Lock (Opposition Group Leader)
Mandy Chilcott (Deputy Leader)	Liz Leyshon
David Hall	Dean Ruddle
Clare Paul	Tessa Munt (Climate Change) Mike Best
	(Health & Well-Being)
Christine Lawrence	Simon Coles
John Woodman	Mike Rigby
David Huxtable	Jane Lock
Frances Nicholson	Bill Revans
Faye Purbrick	Tessa Munt (Education) and Mike Rigby
	(Transformation)

LABOUR GROUP

Leader: Leigh Redman

INDEPENDENT GROUP

Leader: John Hunt

GREEN GROUP

Leader: Martin Dimery

